FacebookTwitter
English Chinese (Simplified) French German Greek Indonesian Italian Japanese Spanish Turkish Vietnamese

Library Lines

Library Lines: Tuesday, 25 June 2019

It’s going to be school holidays shortly, but if you aren’t going away, don’t worry, come to the library instead and have your children enjoy winter themed stories and handicrafts.

There’s storytelling and simple handicrafts for younger children 0 to six years on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday morning from 10.30am onwards. These sessions are free and no bookings are required – just come along and enjoy – it’s for the young and the young at heart.

In the afternoons, on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays from 3.30 pm onwards we have Crafty Creations for older children from seven to twelve years. The theme these holidays is Winter, and children can learn how to make dreamcatchers, cut out snowflakes, make friendship bracelets, make a pinecone and book snow owl, and other items to engage their imagination and crafty talents.
Bookings are essential for these sessions, so please ring the library on 67402190 to ensure your child or grandchild secures a place; there’s also a charge of three dollars a session.

Handicrafts and storytelling will also take place at Curlewis library on Monday afternoons, from 1.30pm onwards. Children under seven must be accompanied by an adult, and the three dollar session charge also applies.

Lots of new books have been added to the collection this week, including the weighty The Family Law handbook: your practical guide to Australian Family Law by Dr. Maree Livermore. This is the latest edition of this book, published 2019 and amongst the chapters included are those on Marriage, Divorce, Court Processes. Evidence, and Property. Easy to read and understand information, with information boxes. This book is also available as an eResources through the State Library website. There’s also a list of handy contacts with phone numbers, addresses, and website addresses.

New parents, if they have the time!, might like to borrow The day-by-day baby book: all the information you need for the first year of your baby’s life. It’s an Australian book packed with information and pictures, handy Ask a … column with questions and answers, checklists, and resources including email addresses and phone numbers.

See you soon at the library!

Library Lines: Tuesday, 18 June 2019

Plenty of new books have been added to the stocks this week, including some large print titles.

Remember, check the Large Print section for your favourite authors, as I no longer double up with titles – the books are purchased either in normal print – trade paperback which is the larger paperback format – or Large print. So there are plenty of titles in the large print collection that won’t be in the normal print section for you to chase up!

New titles include A family recipe by Veronica Henry – a heartwarming story of someone dealing with the empty nest syndrome, complete with some favourite recipes for you to try. There’s also Whistle in the dark a mystery novel by Emma Healey that will keep you guessing.

There’s also A place with heart which could be the library!!, but is set in Western Australia, and written by ‘bestselling Australian author Jennie Jones – a combination mystery/romance novel. The woman from Saint Germain by J. R. Lonie is set in Europe in 2914 ‘Two strangers from different worlds. Only war could bring them together.’

There’s also plenty happening in the library this week, with Toddler time three times a week from 10.30 am onwards on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday mornings, Junior brain Games for children aged eight to 12 years on Wednesday afternoon at 3.30 pm, and Bookends Literacy Assist from 3.00 to 5.00 pm on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays.

Older people have also been catered for – the library hosts Knit and Natter, Colour and Chatter on Saturday mornings from 9.30 onwards. Come on in, enjoy a game, a chat, a cuppa, or a colouring in session with like-minded people – This is a programme for both adults and children – all are welcome at the library! On Monday morning at 10.30am and in the afternoon at 3.30 pm you can also come in for an hour of brain training – memory games, join the dots, find the objects, mazes, word games, and so on. It’s fast, it’s fun and it’s free!

See you soon!

Library Lines: Tuesday, 11 June 2019

Enjoy some winter thrillers when you come to the library!

Plenty of new books have been added to the collection this week. Amongst the new titles are Hunted by Jack Heath, described as ‘a truly unique thriller’ with Timothy Blake, ex FBI agent, tripping over bodies, and having to cover up a terrible secret. A …’wildly suspenseful thriller …’.

New to the science fiction section of the library is Do you dream of Terra-Two? It takes six teenagers 23 years to get to this planet, hoping that nothing goes wrong – of course ‘something always goes wrong.’

A bit closer to home is Lake Hill by Australian author Margareta Osborn. The book is classed as ‘an Aussie rural romance, and carries the warning ‘Dreams can come true – just be careful what you wish for.’

The Spanish Promise by Karen Swan takes the reader to Spain, where Charlotte ‘digs into the prominent family’s history and unearths a dark and shocking past …’ The book is touted as having ‘Smart plots, brilliant characters and juicy romance.’ Obviously something for everyone!

Everyone loves Friday, and to encourage some creativity in the kitchen, borrow Jamie’s Friday night feast cookbook: epic weekend recipes for friends & family and cook up a storm in the kitchen. Coloured photos, detailed directions, and also a nutritional table at the end of each dish explaining calories, salt, sugar, etc.

A useful book for anyone studying is How to reach your full potential in year 12: your best score by Chris Karkanis. Chapters include: How the brain works, Boosting your memory, Managing your time, Managing stress, Finding motivation, and each chapter finishes with a one page recap. Large, easy to read print, plenty of useful information, Real stories of success, and a list of Australian web sites and phone numbers for help or further information.

All good reading, and all available for loan, for FREE, at Gunnedah Shire Library.

See you soon at the library!

Library Lines: Tuesday, 4 June 2019

If anyone is doing an autumn clean instead of a spring clean, remember that the library accepts donations of books in good condition. Just call in or check with us if you wish to know if your books are suitable for the library. If they don’t fit into our selection criteria, we place them on the sales trolley and use the money raised to buy new titles.

Coming to return your books on their due date and the library is closed?

There’s an after-hours chute to the left of the door. Just push open the flap and slide the books through, and we will mark them off your card the following morning, so you won’t accrue an overdue fine.

We’ve added plenty of new books to the library’s collection this week.

Amongst the new titles are The House of Second Chances by Australian author Ester Campion. ‘From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney.’

Set in 1914 and the fall of Russia’s imperial dynasty is Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly, a book which ‘celebrates the unbreakable bonds of women’s friendship during the darkest days of history’.

‘In the aftermath of war, the hunter becomes the hunted …’ in Kate Quinn’s novel The Huntress, this book ‘illuminates the consequences of war on individual lives, and the price we pay to seek justice and truth.’ And ranging from Budapest 1938 to Sydney in 2007 is A Universe of Sufficient Size by Miriam Sved. Paris is the setting for Sarah Morgan’s book One Summer in Paris, where two women are striving to find themselves after a major upheaval in their lives.

A new thriller added to the collection is The Malta Exchange by Steve Berry, a Cotton Malone thriller, where the characters search for ‘a document that dates back to the fourth century and Constantine the Great.’

All good reading, and all available for loan, for FREE, at Gunnedah Shire Library.

See you soon at the library!